top of page
Search

Author Interview with Brett Comeau

Today's author interview is with Boston native Brett Comeau who recently released his new Fantasy book, Nameless vs The Army of the Dead. While writing his first book, he called on not only his knowledge of fantasy stories but some of the wilder experiences he had in different dangerous situations, including bar fights in seedy parts of town doing his poker player days to give his story a more "real" feel for a fantasy story.


 

Brett Comeau


 


A Nameless Hunchback must Stop the Army of the Dead Can he Save the Innocent People of his City?


it's Harry Potter Meets Michael Crichton's Eaters of the Dead



The 1800s city of Geneva is plagued by Darklings, cloaked figures


who kidnap and murder its impoverished residents during the night.


While the rich hide safely behind their high stone walls,


the poor are forced to patrol their own borders to ward off


the evil foes.


When a nameless, deformed, indentured servant comes of age,


he is commanded by law into the night to protect the city,


he becomes an unlikely hero who saves


the mayor's daughter from a Darkling attack.


But the nameless boy realizes there is more to the Darklings


than the city's residents have been told. Joined by


the mayor's daughter and his only friend, another local boy,


he investigates the cause of the attacks. What they uncover


is far blacker than the cloaks of the Darklings...



One, Two They're coming for you.



Three Four, Lock your door



Five, Six Darkling Tricks



Seven Eight, will seal your fate



Nine Ten They will kill again



If you're eager for a fast-paced action fantasy story with three young protagonists determined to save the innocent people in

their city, then you'll love Nameless vs the Army of the Dead.





 

Author Name: Brett Comeau



Author’s social media links (Goodreads, Facebook,

Twitter etc.)

Twitter Account -


Authors Series and list of books.

My first book is out now, and it's called Nameless vs the Army of the Dead. It is the first book in the Nameless Saga.

Tell me a little about yourself, where you live, your family, hobbies!

My name is Brett Comeau, and I was born in Boston, Massachusetts

but I now live in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania with my wife Linda, and our cat, Chirp.

Growing up, there was a large age gap between me and my older brothers and sister. This led me to be alone a lot growing up. I started creating stories and adventures with my toys when my mother gave me a box full of old Tom Swift adventure books and encouraged me to read. I

had new worlds opened up with these new books. Later on, when my friend Matt R lent me his copy of The Forgotten Realms the Crystal Shard, the rest was history. I found my one true love, Fantasy.

Ever since then, I have been a fan of fiction stories, especially sci-fi and fantasy. From when I was a kid I started with the Forgotten Realms books, the Dragon Lance books, Lord of the Rings. and other comics.

I later moved on to more adult books like Game of Thrones, The Gunslinger Series by Stephen King, and other independent self-published books.

Other than telling stories, I love to play poker (I tried to be a professional poker player for a year) and I also practice martial arts Including Uechi-Ryu, Iaido, and Kenjutsu. I also teach kickboxing at the YCMA in my area.




What got you into writing?

My sister, I was living at her place in LA (after trying to be a professional poker player and going broke.) She helped me get back on my feet, and more importantly, find my passion.


What’s the main thing you love and hate about writing?

The main thing I love is the idea, that feeling of “Oh man, that would be cool!” What I hate is the fact that I have to rewrite the story for the fifth time lol.


How do you select the names of your characters?

As I work with the characters, I think about who they are as the character’s style develops, and then usually the right name comes into focus.


What is next on your list to write/publish?

The second book in the Nameless Saga. Nameless vs the Wolfmen of Moonlight Bay.


What is your favorite childhood book?

I was a huge fan of the Peanuts comic books.


Who is your favorite author, and why?

Stephen King, I know that might not be an original answer, but I have always been connected to Stephen King's work. The first “grown-up book” I read when I was a kid was Eyes of the Dragon by Stephen King. Ever since then, I have always returned to his books over the years. The Gunslinger series has been my favorite series of my lifetime (mainly because the series wasn’t finished when I

was a kid) so I have read it for years.


Who encouraged you the most to write?

It’s a two-way tie–my sister Janet and my wife Linda. My sister literally saved my life and put me on a new path. I was living in Las Vegas and I had no purpose. I went to visit her in Los Angeles and she got me into writing. She helped me find my purpose. My wife, Linda, has had my back every day of our relationship. She sacrificed “our time” so I could work. She encouraged me when I was frustrated or tired. I couldn’t have done this without these two women.


Are you as avid a reader as a writer?

YES! In fact, I always say my love of reading led to me becoming a writer. My first novel, Nameless vs the Army of the Dead, is dedicated to my Mother Susan Comeau, and in the dedication I talked about her giving me my love of reading.


What’s your favorite genre?

Fantasy—I loved reading when I was a kid, but when my friend Matt Russo lent me his copy of The Crystal Shard The Forgotten Realms book. That was the moment I fell in love with fantasy. I have been reading them ever since.


Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what type? Or can’t you stand background noise when writing?

I need it to be quiet. I get too easily distracted by noise, So I like it quiet, that is why I do my best writing at night after my wife has gone to bed.


What is your writing Kryptonite?

Social media short reels (I can waste my entire day 7 seconds at a time lol.)


Tell me a secret that none of your fans know! Do you like to cook or perhaps only wear a certain color sock?

I have terrible grammar. I mean really, really bad lol. On more than one occasion, I will have words auto-correct tell me (basically) “Yeah, we have no idea what you’re looking for.”


Tell me what your main character would say about you!

My main character is a very nice person, desperate for connection so If I showed him kindness he would like me.

If I insulted him, he would just consider me another person to deal with.


How many unpublished and half-finished books do you

have?

I have one other published book, but it is unrelated to my fantasy book. It is a poker book on low buy-in tournaments (I lived in Vegas for several years and made a living as a poker player) but this is my first fiction novel.





What is your motto in life?

It’s funny, I have had several mottos over the years. When I was in my 20s and 30s, I tried so many different jobs youth counsellor and poker player. I was even a cowboy on a guest ranch! In my 20s and 30s, my motto should have been “Wow, that did not work!” I failed at so many things because they weren’t what I was born to do! So I wasn’t passionate about those different jobs, but when I became an author, I was all in. My motto now is “total focus on becoming a better author.”


Does your family support your career as a writer?

Yes, with a but lol My wife is 100% supportive. She wants to hear about every part of my work. She has been an amazing supporter. When I showed my book to my mother (to whom my first book is dedicated), she responded with, "Oh, that's nice! Can you help me hang this painting?" lol. She supported me but didn’t go too deep into it. My other family members are very supportive of my work and are proud of me. My older brother and I were talking. He told me, "It doesn’t matter if you sell one book or ten million books, you write a story and put it out to the world, I’m really

proud of you."


Finally, any words of advice?

We live in an amazing time! Because I am almost 50, and I remember when publishing a book meant trying to get an agent and getting rejection after rejection, now I can write a book and release it to the world in one day! But that also comes with a huge responsibility! You have to make sure before you publish your book that it is ready. You have total control, but that also means you have total responsibility. I would say take that responsibility seriously.

34 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page