top of page
Search

Author Interview with J. Z Pitts

I would like to introduce you to a new author and his first book, Virtual Rebel which is book one of a trilogy. J.Z. Pitts is not a stranger to writing as he began writing when he was in high school and for the high school newspaper. Let's get to know him a little better and what else he has planned for his writing in the near future.


 


J. Z. Pitts


 


I'm Ava McNealy, and I'm addicted to The Haven, an immersive virtual reality program. Who cares if tyrannical aliens rule the Earth when there are endless digital worlds to explore, monsters to fight, and team-ups with friends.

But when my father is arrested as a rebel, everything changes. Desperate to save him from execution, I embark on a perilous journey through treacherous levels and uncharted realms within The Haven, where everything is not as it seems.

Will my audacious quest be successful? Can I unravel the secrets of The Haven in time? The fate of my father, and perhaps the course of history itself, hangs in the balance.




 

Author Name: J.Z. Pitts


Author’s social media links (Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter etc.)


Authors Series and list of books.

The Haven Trilogy: Book 1, Virtual Rebel


Tell me a little about yourself, where you live, family, hobbies!

I live in Georgia, near Atlanta. I have a wife and two daughters. Don’t really have any

hobbies…between family and writing, I don’t have time for much else!


What got you into writing?

A love of stories and storytelling. At 12 or 13 years old I would write stories that

kind of copied whatever I was reading at the time. As I got older, I got into

filmmaking and pursued that for a while. Then about 5 or 6 years ago, I decided I

needed to get serious about writing and really wanted to write books.


What’s the main thing you love and hate about writing?

I love the control and the possibilities writing presents. Your limit is your imagination and communication abilities. But I hate how slow it can be and how grueling it can get. Good writing

isn’t as easy as it looks.


How do you select the names of your characters?

A variety of methods. Whatever name is stuck in my head at the time, or name generators, or name lists.


What is next on your list to write/publish?

The sequel to my debut, Virtual Rebel, is next to do! I’m in the early stages of writing it.


What is your favorite childhood book?

I don’t know if I have one. I enjoyed The Sugar Creek Gang, The Hardy Boys, and The Minute Boys of Bunker Hill as a young teenager.


Who is your favorite author, and why?

Again, hard to pick one. It’s hard not to mention Stephen King in such an answer. But there’s also Jim Butcher, Martha Wells, and Joe Abercrombie. If you haven’t noticed, it’s hard for me to pick one of anything!


Who encouraged you the most to write?

My mom. She wanted me to be a journalist.


Are you as avid a reader as a writer?

I try to be. It’s hard to find much time to read as an adult. So thankful for audiobooks!


What’s your favorite genre?

Sci-fi, or fantasy. I’ll read other genres, but those two are my go-to.


Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what type? Or can’t you stand

background noise when writing?

It depends. Sometimes I like music, sometimes I like silence or white noise. If I do

put on music, it’s usually mood playlists. Epic, or action…stuff like that.


What is your writing Kryptonite?

Maybe fatigue? It’s hard to write when you’ve got a thick brain fog going on.


Tell me a secret that none of your fans know! Do you like to cook or perhaps only

wear a certain color sock?

I don’t like mushrooms. Scandalous, I know!


Tell me what your main character would say about you!

She can be a bit snarky, so she’d probably make a comment about me sitting back and making her go through a bunch of crap for my entertainment!


How many unpublished and half-finished books do you have?

One. A few years back I wrote a 121-thousand-word sci-fi epic that will never see the light of day.

There’s many things I’m proud of in that book, but it is unpublishable in its current state. It needs a complete rewrite, and I’ve got other books I’m working on for now.


What is your motto in life?

Do what you can with what you have. And learn as you go.


Does your family support your career as a writer?

They’ve been my biggest supporters and cheerleaders. It would be impossible to do without them.


Finally, any words of advice?

Advice for writers? Get it done. Don’t wait for the muse. The muse is fickle. Learn your craft, don’t be afraid to make mistakes, and keep learning more!


 

"I define science fiction as the art of the possible. Fantasy is the art of the impossible." - Ray Bradbury.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page