top of page
Search

Author Interview with Kilayla Pilon

I had the pleasure of interviewing Canadian author Kilayla Pilon who is also an advocate for mental illness which is also showing in the books Kilayla has written so far. As well as writing fiction and non-fiction books, Kilayla also writes a collection of poetry.


 

Kilayla Pilon


 



 

Author Name: Kilayla Pilon


Author’s social media links (Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter etc.)


Authors Series and list of books.

The Buried King

When I Am Someone Else

Thread and Twine

Scarlet Clock

The Prophet’s Daughter


Tell me a little about yourself, where you live, family, hobbies!

I am a poet and fiction author living with Fahr's disease and Dissociative Identity

Disorder. I am an advocate for mental health awareness and I often incorporate mental

illness and addiction into my poetry. I am also a total cat person with two little kitties

that I love with all my heart. I love video games – specifically story-rich games like Life

Is Strange and The Walking Dead: A Telltale Series. I am also an artist!


What got you into writing?

I started writing by play by post role-playing when I was twelve. It taught me how to

develop my writing and grow wonderful stories with other people.


What’s the main thing you love and hate about writing?

I love creating, it’s so freeing, but remembering everything in a book to avoid plot holes

is super hard with a memory disorder!


How do you select the names of your characters?

I have no special way. I just happen to think of names and I usually go through a few

before I settle on one I like!


What is next on your list to write/publish?

I have three books coming out over the next few years!

HIDDEN FACES is a nonfiction retelling of my time in a psych ward when I was

seventeen. SHADOW DANCER is about an assassin who is ordered to kill the Queen,

and THE SCARED LITTLE BEE is a kid's book!


What is your favorite childhood book?

The Owls of Ga’hoole and the Warrior Cats series.


Who is your favorite author, and why?

Chevy Stevens, hands down, has written some of the most amazing books I’ve ever

read. Still Missing was an amazing read.


Who encouraged you the most to write?

My Mum! She always gets excited when I share my work with her.


Are you as avid a reader as a writer?

I used to be a big reader, but I don’t read as much as I used to.


What’s your favorite genre?

I guess I could say crime/thriller is a genre I enjoy but I also love fantasy.


Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what type? Or can’t you stand

background noise when writing?

I like music but I also enjoy listening to rain and thunder soundtracks when I write.


What is your writing Kryptonite?

Seeing others succeed while I barely make any sales.


Tell me a secret that none of your fans know! Do you like to cook or perhaps only

wear a certain color sock!

I believe a bag of chips will be great if the first chip I get out of the bag is folded.


Tell me what your main character would say about you!

That I am impatient and need to be gentler with treating my characters.


How many unpublished and half-finished books do you have?

I have three unpublished but they are being published. Other than that, I have a new

poetry book in the works.


What is your motto in life?

“I stayed at rock bottom until I realized I could use the rocks around me to build myself

back up.”


Does your family support your career as a writer?

Yes! They are very supportive and positive. They hold space for my dreams when I feel

hopeless.


Finally, any words of advice?

Always write, whatever you want, and just do it for you, no one else.


 

“Your mental health is a priority. Your happiness is an essential. Your self-care is a necessity.” - Anonymous

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page